30 Years Ago Today

22 February 1984 was the last morning I ever woke up as a civilian. By the end of that day, I was legally a US Army Soldier, albeit one entirely lacking in the training required to refine my civilian ore into Soldier metal. I still take pride in the fact that, since I entered service at the lofty pay grade of E2 (due to college credits), I was appointed by the St. Louis MEPS cadre to be in charge of my fellow recruits as we rode a bus from the St. Louis MEPS to Fort Leonard Wood.

This entry was posted in Showing My Age. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

